Return

FORTRESSES AND RAMPARTS AROUND THE STRONGHOLD OF TOUL

About

54200 TOUL

Due to the defeat in 1870, fortifications were built along all borders of France between 1874 and 1885. They were updated until the beginning of WW1. These fortifications are named after the General Raymond Adolphe Séré-de-Rivières.

To visit :

FORT DE FROUARD AND THE BATTERIE DE L’EPERON

to FROUARD

The Batterie de l'Éperon, located at the northern tip of the Moselle loop, is a unique site housing, in one location,... 

More Details

THE FORT DU VIEUX CANTON IN VILLEY ST ETIENNE

to VILLEY SAINT ETIENNE

From April to October : Discovery tour of the French Fortifications of 1914 designed by Séré de Rivières.... 

More Details

FORT PELISSIER

to BAINVILLE SUR MADON

This leisure park is entirely designed in a 19th century fortification of 70,000 m². The fort offers stunning... 

More Details

THE FORT OF VILLEY-LE-SEC

to VILLEY LE SEC

Built the day after the war of 1870, the fort of Villey-le-Sec is part of the defense system « Séré de Rivières ».... 

More Details

FORTIFICATIONS AND WORKS OF VAUBAN, PORTE DE METZ

to TOUL

Toul is the only city of Lorraine to keep a surrounding wall. Since the antique ramparts from the third century, a... 

More Details

Do you want to receive our latest news, ask for getting our newsletter.

M'inscrire ici
DNC   Copyright © 2020 Maison du tourisme en Pays Terres de Lorraine